Death at Chinatown
Series: Emily Cabot Mysteries, Book 5
Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Mystery/HIstorical
Publication Year: 2014
Length: 228 p.
ASIN: 0989053555
ISBN: 9780989053556

In the summer of 1896, amateur sleuth Emily Cabot meets two young Chinese women who have recently received medical degrees. She is inspired to make an important decision about her own life when she learns about the difficult choices they have made in order to pursue their careers. When one of the women is accused of poisoning a Chinese herbalist, Emily once again finds herself in the midst of a murder investigation. But, before the case can be solved, she must first settle a serious quarrel with her husband, help quell a political uprising, and overcome threats against her family. Timeless issues, such as restrictions on immigration, the conflict between Western and Eastern medicine, and women’s struggle to balance family and work, are woven seamlessly throughout this riveting historical mystery. Rich with fascinating details of life in Chicago’s original Chinatown, this fifth book in the Emily Cabot Mysteries series will continue to delight history buffs and mystery lovers alike.

About the Book

Praise for Death at Chinatown

“Fascinating history underpins the tale…fans of historical mysteries should…enjoy this visit to 1896 America.” —Publishers Weekly

“This enjoyable mystery set in a historically accurate Chicago features a strong sense of time and place…The book is a solid period story, with a plot that holds together, an interesting lead character, and strong historical detail…vivid action sequences and family drama [are mixed] with the main crime narrative…The writing is well paced, with a large number of dialogue-driven scenes and a first-person narrator keeping the story moving.”—Jeff Fleischer, Foreword Reviews


Trade Paperback ♦ ISBN 978-0-9890535-5-6 ♦ $15.99

Ebook ♦ ISBN 978-0-9890535-6-4 ♦ $6.99

Available through Ingram, Baker & Taylor, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, etc.

FICTION/ Mystery & Detective/ Historical

5.5″ x 8.5″

226 pages

• to download printer-friendly information about this book click here

About the Author
Frances McNamara

Frances McNamara grew up in Boston, where her father served as Police Commissioner for ten years. She has degrees from Mount Holyoke and Simmons Colleges, and recently retired from the University of Chicago. She now divides her time between Boston and Cape Cod.

Emily Cabot Mysteries publication order:

Death at the Fair
Death at Hull House
Death at Pullman
Death at Woods Hole
Death at Chinatown
Death at the Paris Exposition
Death at the Selig Studios
Death on the Homefront

An ebook box set of the first three books in the series is also available.

Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."