Death on the Homefront

Forthcoming December 15, 2020

With the United States on the verge of entering World War I, tensions run high in Chicago in the Spring of 1917, and the city simmers with anti-German sentiment mixed with virulent patriotism. Shockingly, amateur sleuth Emily Cabot is present when a young Chicago woman, who is about to make a brilliant society marriage, is murdered. Was her death retaliation for her pacifist activities, or was it linked to her romantic entanglements? Emily has a personal connection to the woman, but she’s torn between her determination to solve the murder and her deep need to protect her newly adult children from the realities of a new world. As the country’s entry into the war unfolds, Emily watches with trepidation as her sons and daughter make questionable choices about their own futures. Violent worker unrest and the tumultuous arena of automobile racing provide an emotionally charged backdrop for this compelling mystery.

About the Book

Praise for Frances McNamara’s previous novels

“McNamara’s suspenseful third Emily Cabot mystery…convincingly recreates a pivotal moment in American labor history…Laurie King and Rhys Bowen fans will be delighted.” Publishers Weekly

“McNamara…proves, if anyone was asking, that librarians make great historical mystery writers…I’d follow Emily to any location.” Historical Novels Review

“A well-crafted plot with fascinating period detail…a cracking good mystery.” Publishers Weekly


Trade Paperback • ISBN 978-0-9996982-7-3 • $18.99

Ebook • ISBN 978-0-9996982-8-0 • $6.99

FICTION / Mystery & Detective /Historical • 5.5″ x 8.5″ • 242 pages

Available through Ingram, Amazon, etc.

to download printer-friendly information about this book click here

Series: Emily Cabot Mysteries, Book 8
Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Mystery/HIstorical
Length: 242 p.
ISBN: 9780999698273
List Price: $18.99
eBook Price: $6.99
About the Author
Frances McNamara

Frances McNamara grew up in Boston, where her father served as Police Commissioner for ten years. She has degrees from Mount Holyoke and Simmons Colleges, and recently retired from the University of Chicago. She now divides her time between Boston and Cape Cod.

Emily Cabot Mysteries publication order:

Death at the Fair
Death at Hull House
Death at Pullman
Death at Woods Hole
Death at Chinatown
Death at the Paris Exposition
Death at the Selig Studios
Death on the Homefront

An ebook box set of the first three books in the series is also available.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."