Promises to the Dead

As Chicago recovers from the Great Fire of 1871, the Civil War continues to haunt its residents. What begins for Detective Frank Hanley as the simple case of a missing railroad clerk quickly escalates into something much more complex. Ezra Hayes, who has made a daring escape from forced servitude on a Louisiana sugar plantation, brings to Chicago proof of nefarious doings in the South. His information implicates the missing clerk’s employer, a major shipper of sugar. As Hanley struggles to untangle the web of circumstances surrounding the railroad’s role in the clerk’s disappearance, Rivka Kelmansky faces her own personal struggle. Her brother is pressuring her to marry a young man from her tight-knit Jewish community, but she still dreams of forging a new life with Hanley. When her mulatto sister-in-law is wrongfully accused of murder, Rivka turns to Hanley for help. Facing opposition on multiple fronts, they must race against time to save Ada’s life and uncover the shocking truth.

Order Now!
About the Book

Advance Praise for Promises to the Dead

“engrossing…Pirrone dramatically highlights the racism, corruption, and greed that marked post–Civil War America
through the travails of her heroic characters. Readers will hope to see more of Hanley and Rivka soon.” —Publishers Weekly

 “A riveting historical novel whose exploration of hatred and prejudice will leave you shaking with anger”—Kirkus

“The Chicago of Promises to the Dead…is multi-layered and nuanced, and…readers will be eager to follow Hanley and Rivka as their paths cross and diverge.”—Historical Novels Review


Trade Paperback ♦ ISBN 978-0-9996982-5-9 ♦ $18.99

Ebook ♦ ISBN 978-0-9996982-6-6 ♦ $6.99

Available through Ingram, Amazon, etc.

FICTION/ Mystery & Detective/ Historical

6″ x 9″

325 pages

to download printer-friendly information about this book click here

Series: Hanley & Rivka Mysteries, Book 3
Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Mystery/HIstorical
Publication Year: 2020
ISBN: 9780999698259
List Price: $18.99
eBook Price: $6.99
Order Now
About the Author
D. M. Pirrone

D. M. Pirrone is the nom de plume of Diane Piron-Gelman. She lives near Chicago with her husband and sons. Her debut novel, No Less in Blood, was published by Five Star in 2011.

Hanley & Rivka Mysteries publication order:

Shall We Not Revenge
For You Were Strangers
Promises to the Dead

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."